On The Reel

Quelle Chris – The SON


Do you like rap music? Do you like the internet? If you answered yes to both, then you have no reason not to download The S.O.N.,(Sh*tting On Ni**as), the latest EP from the Oakland via Detroit MC/Producer, Quelle Chris.  QC has amassed a nice catalog over the last few years with his Blue Monday project, the work with his group Crown Nation, and most notably some of the stand out tracks from Danny Brown’s, The Hybrid (“Guitar Solo”) and XXX (“Monopoly”).  Quelle’s latest offering comes as a most welcomed addition.  By paying homage to the bygone era of the demo tape, these six tracks may have been approached in a lo-fi fashion to provide a sonic authenticity.  Nonetheless, the tone of these recordings are from an artist too seasoned to display the callow eagerness one would expect to find in a wannabe signee.  Quelle raps as if he really doesn’t want to say anything, but only does so out of sheer disgust.  Whether it’s the industry, other rappers, naysayers, complacency, the police, or those who want to chit chat with lines like “Hit me with text like/ Bro you never answer phone/Cuz you don’t ever talk about shit”, sounds of someone whose just had enough.  The minimal, yet compelling musical backdrop Quelle provides for himself works well with his aversion, by letting the drums drive home any point he’s trying to make. This unison is best on display on the track “G.O.D = Power”, with a Halloween-esque synth and an O.D.B. sample accented by a snare that graduated from the P.S.K. school of drums.  Between The S.O.N., his production on Roc Marciano’s forthcoming Reloaded and his own full length Shotgun & Sleek Rifle (November 15), Quelle may be able to live the fabled rap life that the demo tape used to hold the key to..


DOWNLOAD: http://crown-nation.com/quelle-chris-the-son-brand-new-ep-out-now-download-here/



01.  Mega Raps (The Demo) (prod. by Quelle)
02.  G.O.D. = POWER (The Voice) (prod. by Quelle)
03.  The Clock (The Reality) (prod. by Quelle)
04.  The Son Intermission (the plan)
05.  Sh#tting On Ni##as (the move) (prod. by Quelle)
06.  Rap Life (the LIEfe) (prod. by Quelle)


1 Replies to "On The Reel"
February 16, 2016 at 12:10 pm

With havin a great deal content have you ever come across any
issues of plagorism or copyright infringement? My site has many exclusive content I’ve either authored myself or
outsourced but it really looks like a lot of
it is popping it up everywhere in the internet without my permission. Are you aware any
techniques to aid prevent content from being scammed? I’d truly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply